FEATURED POST

Never Miss a New Post.

TRAIN OF THOUGHT

Posts Are Coming Soon
Stay tuned...

TRAVEL

MY TOP 5

CULTURE

ABOUT ME

I am a veterinarian by training (University of Bari, Italy), with a PhD in tropical medicine and epidemiology (University of Edinburgh, UK), and a Master in International Development-African Studies (Sciences Po, Paris). 
I am a board diplomate of the European Veterinary Parasitology College (EVPC) and American College of Veterinary Microbiologists (ACVM)-specialty of Parasitology.

I am very passionate about several things, most importantly: human beings (international relations), international development, science, languages and music.

Africa and Japan within all this. 

Since 2010, I have been working in development initiatives focusing on livestock, agricultural development, global health and education in sub-Saharan Africa.

This commitment started with my PhD work focusing on the study and the control of 'zoonotic' vector-borne diseases in Uganda and Nigeria, leading to the establishment of the "USALTI-Afrique" research unit at the University of Salford, in Manchester, UK. USALTI-Afrique provides research, educational and capacity building opportunities to students and scientists researching on diseases of public health and economic importance in Africa. Through USALTI-Afrique I became involved in the institution of the "African Institute of One Health Research & Diagnostics (AIOHRD)"in Abuja, Nigeria, as a founding member of its Board of Directors.
The AIOHRD aims to become a centre of excellence in the field of human and veterinary infectious diseases for the whole of West African region. 

Over the past seven years, I have also covered a senior executive role in the pharmaceutical industry. This experience has taught me much and makes me strongly believe that the private sector can contribute majorly to the Development of sub-Saharan Africa.  

During my Master's at Sciences Po, I had the pleasure to act as the coordinator of the Global Health research team in the students' think tnak Human Development Research Initiative (HDRI).

In my leisure time, I am also a rapper/MC and slam poetry lyricst.

I grew up in Italy, before moving to the UK (Scotland), first, and France, then. 

Besides English and Italian, I speak French, Portuguese and, more and more, Japanese. 

  • LinkedIn Social Icon
  • Twitter

FOLLOW ME

SUBSCRIBE

 

Drop Me a Line, Let Me Know What You Think

© 2023 by Train of Thoughts. Proudly created with Wix.com